shopify analytics ecommerce
Kidfest in the Valley - Jason Havel - St. Croix Speedway - St. Croix Falls, WI
  • Now Racing Sunday Nights in 2016

Special Thanks

Mastell Brothers Trailer Service, Inc.
Carlson Timber
Rock Auto
Liberty Tire
Contact Cartage
Wallwork Financial
Precision Landscaping
Johnson Motors
BL Dalsin
Grand Casino
Telecom Warehouse
DT Equipment

Season Points

No points at this time.

Driver Profile

Jason Havel

Jason Havel

Rice Lake, WI

Kidfest in the Valley

Kidfest in the Valley

Kids, kids, kids, everywhere one looked on Friday night, there was a kid with a smiling face as St. Croix Valley Raceway gave youngsters center stage. The tracked kicked off their Kid Zone junior fan club with the first of two planned kids’ night this season. Before the races even started, the kids got some action in the form of rides around the track in the cars of their weekend heroes.

After a series of very quickly run heat races, the Bullseye Shooting Range Future Fours attacked the quarter-mile in the first feature of the night. In his first night behind the wheel of a race car, Alex Hallin redrew the pole position alongside of Damon Roberts. Roberts, however, as dictated by track rule, had to start at the tail having won the two prior consecutive feature events. With Roberts shuffled to the back, Kyle Dahlheimer moved up to the front row, and he used the change to his advantage. After picking up a heat win earlier, Dahlheimer shot to the front at the drop of the green and never looked back. If he had looked back, Dahlheimer would have witnessed a spirited battle for runner between the likes of Hallin, Dan Rick, Roberts and Oliver Swanson. At the checkers, Dahlheimer cruised to first ahead of Swanson, Rick, Roberts and Hallin.

The second feature on kids’ night was the Pure Stocks, paced by Tony DuBois and Jason Havel. Havel, the feature winner a week ago, blasted to the point and immediately pulled to a few lengths advantage. But just like in the Future Fours, there was slicing-and-dicing aplenty in the battle for second. DuBois, Brandon Davis, Jake Silbernagel, Jon Wigchers and rookie Ben Kaphing made up a jostling group of pilots vying to challenge Havel. First it was DuBois as runner-up before Davis took over the spot on lap six. By lap ten it was Silbernagel’s turn to run second, where he would stay until the end. Havel won via clean sweep for his second consecutive feature ahead of Silbernagel, Wigchers, Rick and Davis.

There were just two cars on hand for the embryonic UMSS Micro sprints, with Tony Duran claiming another win in the still growing class. For the Vintage Racers, Sonny VanWilgen won the Full Bodied division and Butch Bethke bested the Super Modified division.

For the evening’s penultimate event, Sterling Bank presented a six car UMSS Traditional sprint car field. Last week’s winner Johnny Parsons III and reigning champion Kevin “the Rocketman” Bradwell brought the field to green. As it was in the first two features, the outside pole-sitter found a groove early and led throughout. Katrina Sautbine and the ageless Tom Porter dueled the entire race for fourth, with the youngster Sautbine finally claiming the position at the checkers. Jack Clark ran the full fifteen laps alone in third while Parsons chased after, and mounted an occasional challenge to, Bradwell for the lead, but to no avail. The Rocketman claimed his second trophy in three weeks with a strong win.

To wrap up kids’ night, nineteen WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds roared under Shaun Cimfl’s green flag. Kevin Marlett set the pace for the first three laps, but seventh starting Jason VandeKamp was on the move – slicing his way up to second after just a lap and a half. By lap four, the stout running VandeKamp was showing the way. Once in front, VandeKamp dominated, lapping over half the field in picking up his second SCVR win of the season. Veteran Scandia, Minnesota, hot shoe John Remmington bested last week’s winner, Josh Bazey for second place with Tyler English and Marlett rounding out the top five.

On tap next week for The Valley is “The Traditional 30”, a thirty lap feature event for the UMSS Traditional Sprint cars – the longest race ever for those cars in just their second season of existence. Racing is set to begin at 7:05 p.m.; more information is available on the track’s website,

Future Fours, Feature: Kyle Dahlheimer, Oliver Swanson, Dan Rick, Damon Roberts, Alex Hallin, Chris Arnett, Hope Tucker, Stephanie Lebeis, Nikke DuBois.

Pure Stocks, Feature: Jason Havel, Jake Silbernagel, Jon Wigchers, Justin Rick, Brandon Davis, Greg Hallin, Kyle Hallin, Joe Schwartz, Mike Olson, Mason MeEvers, Tony DuBois, Ben Kaphing, Erica Doriott.

UMSS Micro Srpints, Feature: Tony Duran, Ty Sampeir

UMSS Traditional Sprints, Feature: Kevin Bradwell, Johnny Parsons III, Jack Clark, Katrina Sautbine, Tom Porter, Kevin Nickel.

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, Feature: Jason VandeKamp, John Remmington, Josh Bazey, Tyler English, Kevin Marlett, Tony Schill, Vince Corbin, Corey Fogelson, Doug Toepper, Scott Meeds, Ryan Johnson, Elizabeth Toepper, Eric Gadach, Allen Stettner, Jake Toepper, Shawn Carlson, Jason Schill, Charlie Wihren, Mitch Weiss.

Article Credit: Terry Lehnertz

Latest Results

St. Croix Speedway6/26/2016UMSS Winged Sprint Cars
Full Results
Forgot Password?