shopify analytics ecommerce
Havel, Gunderson Continue Streaks - Justin Oestreich - St. Croix Speedway - St. Croix Falls, WI
  • Now Racing Sunday Nights in 2016

Special Thanks

Mastell Brothers Trailer Service, Inc.
Carlson Timber
Rock Auto
Liberty Tire
Contact Cartage
Wallwork Financial
Precision Landscaping
Johnson Motors
BL Dalsin
Grand Casino
Telecom Warehouse
DT Equipment

Season Points

No points at this time.

Driver Profile

Justin Oestreich

Justin Oestreich

Elk River, MN

Havel, Gunderson Continue Streaks

Havel, Gunderson Continue Streaks

A mid-week drenching left the grounds at St. Croix Valley Raceway soggy, and the race track extremely fast. On the night of the track’s “Valley 500” free food promotion, mostly familiar faces visited Victory Lane. Jason Havel, Greg Gunderson, Oliver Swanson, Johnny Parsons III and Justin Oestreich scored the evening’s feature wins.

The first feature on the track was the Pure Stock main event. Early on the #4 of Tony DuBois and #118 of Greg Hallin were battling for the lead but by lap three, Jason Havel had caught them. On the fourth circuit, Havel shot to the point and started to check out, leaving DuBois and Hallin to battle with Jay Folz and Ben Kaphing. Deeper in the field, the eleventh starting Jake Silbernagel was finding speed and gaining positions. On lap nine of the fifteen lap feature, Silbernagel was battling for fifth with Kyle Hallin. Contact between the two resulted in Hallin veering hard into the turn four wall, ending his night. In the end it was Jason Havel winning his seventh consecutive, and handing out SCVR tee-shirts and treats for the fans after the win. The rest of the top five consisted of Folz, Greg Hallin, Silbernagel, and Jon Wigchers.

Five UMSS Micro Sprints were on hand for their feature, with four time winner Greg Gunderson taking the lead in the first corner after starting fourth. On lap two, the 14k of Allison Berger was battling for second with Ty Sampair when she tipped on her side, bringing out the event’s only caution. Once Berger’s car was righted, she was able to continue, but only for another lap before she had to retire for the night. On the restart the #3 Purple Communications micro driven by Johnny Parsons III took third from the #77 of Tony Duran. At the double checkers, it was “Silent Thunder” Gunderson claiming his fifth consecutive victory at SCVR by a wide margin over Ty Sampair, Johnny Parsons III and Tony Duran.

In the North Branch Shooting Range Future Four main event, Dylan Roberts and Oliver Swanson paced the field to green, with Swanson holding the point early. Behind Swanson, Kyle Dahlheimer, Roberts, and Derek Reding were battling for position. On lap six Kyle Dahlheimer brought out the yellow as his hotrod stalled just before the pit entrance. On the restart it was three wide in turn two for second between Reding, Chris Rick and Roberts as Swanson still held the lead. On lap nine of fifteen Roberts had suspension problems and stopped on the front stretch bringing out another caution. On the restart the battle for second was between Rick, Reding and Nicki DuBois. At the final checkers it was Swanson, Rick, Reding, Dubois, and Alex Hallin in the top five.

The fourth feature of the night was the Sterling Bank UMSS Traditional Sprints. On the first lap of twenty the new and still unlettered #78 of Rob Caho Jr. and the #12 of Johnny Parsons III battled for the lead. On lap two Jack Clark got into the Olympic spirit by triple-flipping his car in turn four. While Clark was alright, his ride was not and required

a tow back to his hauler. On the restart Rob Caho Jr. and Johnny Parsons III were battling again but this time “the Rocket Man” Kevin Bradwell joined the fight after passing Denny Stordahl. After Parsons pulled away a little with seven laps to go Bradwell passed Caho and started to reel in Parsons in lapped traffic. As the double checkered flags waved, it was Parsons first across the line, followed by Bradwell, Caho, Stordahl, and Jimmy Kouba.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds were the last feature of the night with Kevin Marlett and Tyler English pacing the fourteen car field. Fifth starting Grant Southworth led in the early going before first heat race winner Justin Oestreich took over the point on lap four. Behind Oestreich, Southworth, Marlett, Josh Bazey and Tony Schill battled for position. As the laps ticked off, Oestreich, Southworth and Bazey settled into the top three spots, with a lot of activity and hard charging deeper in the field. After starting last, John Remmington was flirting with a top five spot prior to halfway while Corey Fogleson was working his way up as well. With all twenty laps in the books, Oestreich made it a clean sweep in front of Southworth, Bazey, Remmington, Schill and Fogleson.

St. Croix Valley Raceway closes out the month on Friday night, July 27, with Thunder in the Valley #3, featuring the Bumper-to-Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series. Joining the IRA will be the UMSS Traditional Sprints, WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds and the SCVR Future Fours. Additional details for these or any other future events at St. Croix Valley Raceway can be found on the track’s website,


WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds – feature: Justin Oestreich, Grant Southworth, Josh Bazey, John Remmington, Tony Schill, Cory Fogleson, Kevin Marlett, Greg Arnt, Doug Toepper, Jacob Toepper, Mike Halvorsen, Elizabeth Toepper, Mike Haseltine, Tyler English

UMSS Traditional Sprints – feature: Johnny Parsons III, Kevin Bradwell, Rob Caho Jr., Denny Stordahl, Jimmy Kouba, Katrina Sautbine, Adam Taubert, Tom Porter, Mike Huesmann, Jack Clark

UMSS Micro Sprints – feature: Greg Gunderson, Ty Sampair,

Johnny Parsons III, Tony Duran, Allison Berger

Pure Stocks – feature: Jason Havel, Jay Folz, Greg Hallin, Jake Silbernagel, Jon Wigchers, Justin Rick, Ben Kaphing, Mike Olsen, Dennis Stordahl, Tony DuBois, Mason McEvers, Kyle Hallin, Brandon Davis

Future Fours – feature: Oliver Swanson, Chris Rick, Derek Reding, Nicki DuBois, Alex Hallin, Payton English, Chris Arnett, Dylan Roberts, Kyle Dahlheimer

Article Credit: Joshua Lehnertz, Terry Lehnertz and Vince Peterson

Latest Results

St. Croix Speedway6/26/2016UMSS Winged Sprint Cars
Full Results
Forgot Password?